Contact Us

About the Tax Commissioners

commission jvalentine

Commission Chair

John L. Valentine

Appointed and confirmed in September 2014. Graduated from Brigham Young University in accounting and economics. Obtained a Juris Doctorate degree from J. Reuben Clark Law School. A tax attorney with Howard, Lewis & Petersen, in Provo, Utah, and an adjunct Professor of Law in real property and tax at BYU Law School. Former member of the Utah House of Representatives and Utah Senate. Served as President of the Utah Senate.


Commissioner Dixon


D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli

Appointed by Governor Huntsman and confirmed by the Utah State Senate in 2006. 20 years budget, policy and administrative experience in the public, private and non-profit sectors. Former public member of the Utah State Bar appointed by the Utah Supreme Court, and a Utah Courts, Court-Qualified Mediator.


Commissioner Cragun


Michael Cragun

Appointed by Governor Herbert and confirmed by the Utah State Senate in 2009. Served as Lt. Governor Herbert's deputy chief of staff. Served as a Davis County Commissioner. Obtained a bachelor's degree from BYU and a Juris Doctorate degree from Lewis and Clark College in Portland, Oregon.


Commissioner Pero


Robert P. Pero

Appointed by Governor Herbert and confirmed by the Utah State Senate in 2013. Served as Carbon County Clerk/Auditor, County Board of Equalization Clerk, and chair of the Utah Association of Counties Revenue and Taxation Steering Committee. Previously worked in the mining and defense industries and graduated from the University of Utah with a bachelor’s degree in business and economics.